i am a developer in need of some guidance in building a custom LINQ Provider.

the backend data source for my provider is Azure Table storage. a common client-side query might look like this:

var query = (
from m in Medication.Samples
join d in Demographics.Samples on m.UID equals d.UID
where (m.Dosage == "250"smilie && (d.Age > 50)
select new { ... });

my source types above implement IQueryable. when Execute() gets called on my IQueryProvider, i am using MetaLinq to serialize my Expression Tree to the server-side (an Azure Worker Role) where the query execution actually occurs.

on the server-side, i want to essentially partition the above where clause into its source-specific components (e.g. Dosage with Medication AND Age with Demographics), each which translates to a seperate Azure Table (since Azure Tables dont support Joins).

i will then need to query each table individually using its specific components, bring these independent results back into memory on the server-side, and finally perform a join using LINQ to Objects, LINQ to XML, or LINQ to DataSets on the in-memory result collections. i then have a helper class which would translate the client query's projected anonymous type into XML for transmission back to the client-side.

my first question is do you know of a clever/elegant way to accomplish this task of breaking up the where clause into separate queries that will work against Azure Tables using System.Data.Services?

basically, i need to accomplish the following:

1) get original query Expression Tree on server-side (via MetaLinq).

2) breakup where clause into N queries, one for each Azure Table involved. the correct sub-expressions from the where clause need to be applied to each sub-query.

3) execute N sub-queries and then inject the results into memory on the server-side, where they can finally be queried together using the specified Join (via LINQ to Objects, LINQ to XML, OR LINQ to DataSets).