julius.g (3) [Avatar] Offline
It would've saved me much time if it was explicitly stated what role (postgres superuser) was required when installing the topology extension and how to get the non-super-user role to use the extension.

I don't know if anyone else ran into errors (especially related to permissions) when trying to create and use the topology extension in chapter 13, but I'll write down how I got mine to work and save some time for someone else. Since I'm new to postgres and postgis, what I'm doing might not be the right approach, but it's how I could use the topology extension without being the postgres super user.

The one sentence (page 312 in PDF) that related roles/permissions to this extension is:
In some cases, the role you’re logged in as may have its own custom search_path setting that will override the database’s search_path. Before you continue, verify that topology is part of your search_path by running this SQL statement:...

What I found out and set up was the following (via pgAdmin4):
1. login/connect as the postgres superuser. Then install the topology extension using the command in the book (page 312 in PDF)

2. As the postgres non-super-user, check that topology is my search_path (page 312 in PDF), which it was. But I couldn't use it - I got "permission denied"
2.a. In pgAdmin4, the output of SELECT postgis_full_version() also has a tab "Messages." In it, there's this
NOTICE: Topology support cannot be inspected. Is current user granted USAGE on schema "topology" ?

3. After googling and checking stackoverflow (https://gis.stackexchange.com/questions/152236/postgis-topology-requires-admin), I ended up logging in as the postgres superuser and granting permissions on the topology schema to the non-super-user.
3.a. in pgAdmin4, expand 'postgis_in_action' database -> schemas -> topology.
3.b. Right click "properties" -> select tab "security" -> add the non-super-user, in this case 'pia_user' -> grant all -> Then save[/tt].