anthony44 (3) [Avatar] Offline
First, Thanks John for this amazing work.

I'm a newbie and after reading (a couple of times smilie ...), i reach my goal to sell this solution to my company.
Next, I want to go ahead with deploy them on the cloud ...
K8s is clearly not the best solution: needs to rewrite all the project so a big effort.
ECS seems the good one but i'm afraid that it is not the future for spring cloud... What about netflix projects ?
Could anyone can give me some words to resolve this issue ?

One more question : i need to publish data from local oracle database to postgre database. I think about stream (kafka). A microservice scheduler push data to microservice licencing (for ex) as EDA. Did you think this approach is a good one ?

Cheers
runlevl4 (4) [Avatar] Offline
Why do you feel that k8s is off the table and that you'd have to re-write everything? If you're considering ECS I can only presume that you're dealing with Docker containers so I don't see an issue with either one. fwiw, k8s is the industry leader in orchestration solutions. Heck, even Docker and Mesos are lending it more focus/support than their own offerings. Rancher is also doubling down on it with the 2.0 release.
Morgan Bruce (4) [Avatar] Offline
I'd strongly recommend Kubernetes for running containers; it's rapidly becoming industry-standard, and all major cloud providers have a managed option (although EKS is still in preview only on AWS). So long as you can containerize your applications, they shouldn't need to be rewritten.

i need to publish data from local oracle database to postgre database. I think about stream (kafka). A microservice scheduler push data to microservice licencing (for ex) as EDA. Did you think this approach is a good one ?