4ward (6) [Avatar] Offline
Great timing to work on a book for 1.3!

What a great idea to do a live auction to showcase the power + relative simplicity of using Phoenix live capabilities through channels &etc.

Are you developing the API chapter along with the channel chapter to be used by web/mobil clients, that would use channels and when presence indicates not connected an app notification gets sent with live bid/auction status etc.

I think it would be great if you are.

A couple of options:

1) Maybe even a collaboration with React Native (still in MEAP) for the mobile side? That could put this combination as the go to reference for the mobile market!

I am currently new with React-Native & Phoenix technologies, but I do have a React Native app that I have pieced together that can talk to the Phoenix channel "room:lobby" from the Phoenix guide for channels working example.

If you have any questions feel free to contact.

2) I would be interested in seeing an iOS client in SWIFT maybe with the help of the author of iOS Development with SWIFT book. It would be an incredible resource to see about working something out along these lines. I've seen some proof of concept presentations of this combination on the web and there is a SWIFT client library for channels.

To your success!
Geoffrey Lessel (8) [Avatar] Offline
4ward wrote:Great timing to work on a book for 1.3!

What a great idea to do a live auction to showcase the power + relative simplicity of using Phoenix live capabilities through channels &etc.

Thanks! I thought it was kind of a fun and somewhat unusual project to tackle.

4ward wrote:
Are you developing the API chapter along with the channel chapter to be used by web/mobil clients, that would use channels and when presence indicates not connected an app notification gets sent with live bid/auction status etc.

I think it would be great if you are.

A couple of options: