BobCochran (86) [Avatar] Offline
Hi!

I've been looking at this book title and thinking of buying it. I'm a complete beginner to F# so I need a beginner's introduction to that. I am also a complete beginner with Visual Studio. And .NET Core and mono are entirely new to me as well. I did take a C# class but it was a very long time ago, and that release of .NET is now so old it has snowy white hair.

I do 95% of all my work (outside of my day job) on Mac OS X El Capitan, and the other 5% on Fedora Workstation or CentOS 7.x. I'm a professional software developer but on Tier 1 IBM platforms. High Level Assembler and Java. I do have experience with Eclipse and IntelliJ IDEA, and I just downloaded Rider on my Mac.

So, do you think your book would be useful to me with that background? Or is this definitely only for those with a lot of Visual Studio experience? Even if I could get a free download of Visual Studio I would still need to bootstrap myself with it, and that can be tough to do and learn a programming language at the same time. What do you think?

Best,

Bob Cochran

Isaac Abraham (68) [Avatar] Offline
Hey Bob

You're not the first person to ask this question smilie My thoughts are this:

TLDR: The book isn't designed to be read only expert .NET developers, and if you're willing to "filter out" the Visual Studio + Windows parts of the lessons, as well as brush up on the .NET base libraries, this book should be fine.