TS McNamara (25) [Avatar] Offline
This forum is the primary place to ask questions about the book and to offer suggestions about improvements.

Still, if you would like to chat to the author in a less formal--or less public--manner, there are plenty of other options:

• send me a private message or email

• connect with me on Twitter, LinkedIn, Reddit or the Rust users' forum

• I maintain a technical blog at http://always-learning.timmcnamara.nz/ that you're also welcome to explore.

The book now has a Facebook page that will be used for updates if you want to monitor the book's progress: https://fb.me/rustinaction
    500923 (1) [Avatar] Offline
    I'm loving this book, Tim! I love the hands on approach rather than the feature-by-feature approach in 'The Book'.

My only disappointment is that the completion date is so distant!

This is my first time purchasing a Manning book. Will we get new chapters as you complete them?

Thanks and best,
    500923 wrote:I'm loving this book, Tim! I love the hands on approach rather than the feature-by-feature approach in 'The Book'.

My only disappointment is that the completion date is so distant!

This is my first time purchasing a Manning book. Will we get new chapters as you complete them?

I'm absolutely blown away by this comment. Thank you so much for taking the time to create an account and post a message. It's really quite touching.

It was a big call to go up against a book that's so prominent as "the Book". Manning and I have spent over a year refining early drafts and several iterations of the Table of Contents. Rust in Action is deliberately very different. It isn't seeking to be an authoritative reference textbook, which provides a little more freedom.