435096 (2) [Avatar] Offline
Hi

I have read the first (free example) chapter of your book and I liked it a lot. You put effort in explaining how Sails.js works to a novice like myself. The tutorial is very friendly, understandable and does not throw a heap of tech buzzwords at a novice wanna be web developer.

That said, i have only one remark. You "assume a fair bit of knowledge with JavaScript" and "be familiar with the DOM, HTML" is the line that hooked me to start reading your book. I am not a web developer and yet I have learned a bit of JavaScript as a full-fledged programming language, not as some scripting to provide tricks on a web page.

The problem is when you start explaining things making parallels of Sails.js with jQuery in attempt to make more clear how Sails.js works. In the welcome note, if you have assumed a fair bit of knowledge with jQuery, I would have quickly skipped to the next book available that would try to teach me Sails.js with only JavaScript knowledge and if there was non I would skip to some other framework that maybe has such a book.

I am simply suggesting that, the way you teach suitable for as broad audience as can be, it is probably bast if you make parallels with JavaScript not with jQuery. Although the examples in chapter 1 are easy to understand just by looking at the code, it is intimidating to think that in the following chapters there are maybe some jQuery examples that would make a man fetch a jQuery book to cross reference your cross reference. From what i have read so far those jQuery examples can be replaced by just as simple one line JavaScript examples.

JavaScript is a programming language, jQuery is just a library. So please make things simple, why not just use JavaScript?

Thanks.

Joshua Chavanne (1) [Avatar] Offline