The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

419014 (1) [Avatar] Offline
The author never really answered the "Why It's relevant to Microservices". Instead he mostly explained "How easy it's to implement Microservices with Spring Boot/Cloud".

For example: Why is Spring more RELEVANT than other Java/JVM framework or tookits, to implement Microservices.
John Carnell (26) [Avatar] Offline
Hey thanks for the comment.

I will add it to the log and see how I can work it back into the book material. Its late (I am an early morning writer) at night for me but here are a couple of thoughts:

1. Spring proper has become the dominant framework out there for doing Java middle tier developer. There are plenty of other microservice frameworks out there and many of them are very good. (I like DropWizard). The reason why I think Spring Boot is so relevant to other microservice tools is not only the great framework support for writing REST-based services, but also its Spring Cloud sub-project. Having had to do straight up integration with many of the projects in the Netflix Open Source family, I was blown by how much Spring Cloud has made it to operationalize your microservices.

2. Operationalizing your microservices so that problems can be detected quickly and then routed around is a huge bonus in microservice development. While other frameworks can integrate with the things like Hystrix and Eureka, Spring Cloud really makes it simple.