SebastianF (5) [Avatar] Offline
Hi,

(First, a short note concerning myself and my point of viewsmilie

I'm new to the MEAP forum (still taking in all the habits here), even though I've been an avid Manning reader for years.

I'd like to comment on the first chapter -- from the position of someone new to Akka.Net and reactive systems. I have been a software developer for over 15 years (desktop, server and web development), but have not worked with Akka.Net or the Actor Model before, so this is my point of view. I will be commenting on chapters as I go through them in order not to bias my initial thoughts in hindsight.

One last thing: Thank you, Anthony, for sharing your experience and thoughts with us fellow developers. And thank you, Manning Publishing, for openly allowing us to collaborate on these books through MEAP and this forum.

I'm a very frequent reader of IT books and a passionate developer, so my comments can seem a bit harsh and pedantic. However, I do not mean them to be. I especially do not mean to offend anyone. I just believe that the great effort of writing a book must be met with just as great an effort of a sound and honest critique for the benefit of all. So no harm intended whatsoever.

(Now, some remarks on the first chapter.)

Overall, a good start. But two things strike me as odd:

Point 1: Central ideas and names not clearly introduced or contextualized.

The welcome page clearly defines the target audience as developers new to Akka.Net and reactive systems. However, the first chapter tends to throw central names and ideas at me without properly introducing these, making it difficult to follow your (Anthony's) thoughts. Sometimes it is not even clear whether a word references a common concept (like a "regular" compound noun) or is a proper noun (referencing something very special and distinct).