The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

42129 (4) [Avatar] Offline
I don't catch, perhaps as a newbie I'm not specialized enough, but why taking the risk of loosing the center point of the book and so early in the reading.
No explaination on why we will need to use neither Bower nor Zepto.....
paulbjensen (39) [Avatar] Offline
Hi,

Thanks for the post. Bower is a package manager for client-side JavaScript libraries. It was used as a way of simplifying the installation of the client-side JavaScript libraries for the application. I will make sure that this explanation is added into the book.

Zepto is a JavaScript library that implements a jQuery-compatible API, and it smaller in file size compared to jQuery. It is used as a simple library to handle the manipulation of HTML content on the application screen.

I presumed that the book audience would have knowledge of such technologies, but thank you for making the point - I will add it in. I've tried to use simple tools that the majority of people will either know or have experience with, rather than using tools like ES6 and React, which are very much the in-fashion tools to use, but I wouldn't want to add learning those tools on top of learning everything else that the books tried to teach about.