Nathan Youngman (56) [Avatar] Offline
Hi,

While writing this book, one of my goals is to make it accessible to junior developers and beginners who haven't use compiled languages like C, C+, or Java.

Let me know how I'm doing. What is your background? Are there any places in the first two chapters that are confusing or jargon that isn't made clear? Do you find it too verbose or too slow?

Thanks, Nathan.
376423 (1) [Avatar] Offline
Bought the book this morning and have only had a chance to skim the PDF so far - but it looks like a very interesting read smilie

Can't wait to dig into it more over the weekend smilie
235575 (4) [Avatar] Offline
I'm a Unix (Linux) sysadmin and I've been coding in Perl for years, since before 2000. I dabble in bash, python, php when I have to and more recently code applications in javascript using meteor and node.

Learning types in languages like go or java is typically very boring. Your approach to this using examples based on space travel and historical events like rockets blowing up on take off due to rounding errors makes this really really tedious subject interesting and captivating enough to avoid brain shut down. I have found myself actively trying out the suggested exercises and experiments.

Good stuff.

When are the next chapters coming out ?
90871 (28) [Avatar] Offline
Bought the eBook today. Might try to go through it with my son. (I think the space related examples will go a long way towards keeping his interest)

Google Books says it's unable to process the ePub. I have never had this issue with other Manning ePub files.
90871 wrote:Bought the eBook today. Might try to go through it with my son. (I think the space related examples will go a long way towards keeping his interest)

Google Books says it's unable to process the ePub. I have never had this issue with other Manning ePub files.

I hope Learn Go captivates his interest.