267687 (2) [Avatar] Offline
I am new to Node.js and AngularJS. I'm trying to learn it with this book but I can't understand the environment I have to set up to get started. I started by following the steps in appendix B "Setting up a Node.js server". I think I did ok there. I stopped after Initialize the repo.

Then I went to page 9 and tried to follow the bullet points. The first one I'm pretty sure I did already. The second step is:
npm install -g serve
I don't think that worked. My Mac Terminal program had many lines that started with "npm ERR!" The file npm-debug.log was created and I've attached it to this post.
QUESTIONS:
1) What went wrong? How do I fix it?
2) "Install the serve package" is installing something that makes the Node.js server run local on my computer? Or is it just running the server that's already installed?

I'd really like to get started with AngularJS but I just don't understand how to get past these problems. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Lukas Ruebbelke (107) [Avatar] Offline
Try running the command in sudo mode i.e.
sudo npm install -g serve
. Let me know if that doesn't work.
267687 (2) [Avatar] Offline
It worked. Thank you so much. I finished all the bullet points on page 9 and I'm seeing the application run on my browser with url: http://localhost:3000/
So, each day after turning on my computer I need to open Terminal and do the "serve" command in the folder of whatever AngularJS application I'm working on?
We are just using the serve module to provide a lightweight HTTP server so that you can view the app in the browser over HTTP instead of the local file system. There are a few other alternatives to this, but serve is the easiest one that I have found. I generally run all my projects this way unless there is some server-side technology such as rails that is providing it for me.
372567 (12) [Avatar] Offline
I have two directories angello and angello-lite where I have cloned sw from gitHub.