Maurício Fernandes de Castro (2) [Avatar] Offline
My first contact with the toolkit you propose in the book was during Scala Days Berlin this year, where I quickly realized this is the path to follow. As my background is Java, JPA, Spring, etc., it took me some time to get a minimal experience with Scala, Play, and a still limited notion from Akka. Now that I started to actually rewrite code, I see that I need an intermediate step to keep things going before I can dive into Akka Persistence. I'd appreciate your advice to choose between two options: 1) replace JPA with Slick as a start, and wait until I am able to move to Akka Persistence, or 2) choose Akka Persistence directly even if book chapters I may eventually need would take some time to be released.

Thank you, and congratulations for the great work.
Sean A. Walsh (15) [Avatar] Offline
Hi, question: Are you planning on going CQRS/Event Sourcing as well?
Maurício Fernandes de Castro (2) [Avatar] Offline
Yes! Despite I do not have any previous CQRS experience to devise the full impact of such decision, it seems to me very appealing to separate strategies (and jvm's) to query and update the persisted state of a system.

In addition, the project I now plan to convert according to the "Reactive Manifesto" was open sourced in 2004 to incentivate best practices within our local ITC cluster. I expect to have other teams learning from my experience in a near future, including CQRS/Event Sourcing.

Thanks for the help,

Maurício Castro
Maurício Fernandes de Castro wrote:Yes! Despite I do not have any previous CQRS experience to devise the full impact of such decision, it seems to me very appealing to separate strategies (and jvm's) to query and update the persisted state of a system.