The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

dcoetzee (1) [Avatar] Offline
Hi all, I'm a software developer and Rift enthusiast with a DK1 just getting into development. I run a YouTube channel showcasing games/demos (eVRyday VR). I read through the book so far and wanted to just paste you guys my notes on some specific criticisms. As always feel free to ignore any of my comments if I'm wrong or out of line with your vision. smilie

General: This book gets into a lot of details about low-level Rift development against the SDK, and that's useful for people who need to do that (which is mainly people who need to integrate the Rift with custom game engines or new toolkits), but the vast majority of Rift developers are going to be using a toolkit like Unity that has good out-of-the-box Rift support that just works. Even for those who are planning to use the SDK, I think showing them how to get a quick demo with some real geometry up and running in a toolkit like Unity or Torque3D could be really motivating and help them see the light at the end of the tunnel and get through the other more detailed chapters. So I would really suggest a reorganization in which developers first use the high-level toolkits - at least a little - before diving into any low-level details.

General note about images: I read the .mobi version on the Nexus 7 in the Kindle app and the images are displayed fixed at 100% size at 320 dpi and consequently have super tiny text that is almost impossible to read.

Now here's my detailed feedback: