The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

Muzietto (19) [Avatar] Offline
After some initial browsing, I started studying the book. So far it looks informative and useful to me.

I liked chapter 2 very much because of its usage of plain HTML and CSS and I was looking forward to keeping the same method in the following chapters. Instead I see that from chapter 3 on, we are supposed to use a framework.

I am not sure I appreciate the reasons given as explanation for this choice: I believe that flexible & rapid prototyping at professional level is mostly a matter of understanding thoroughly the basics of markup and not about using some helper system. I remember years ago, when as a newbie I started using some css-based grid system (I forgot its name meanwhile). The beginning was very exciting, but after a few months I found myself bogged down in a bunch of redundant classes and conventions.

Another matter of disappointment is the sudden change of subject between chapter 2 and 3. Not didactically sound, do you agree? Moreover, giving us as example a page of your personal blog smells a bit like recycling some material that was ready at hand smilie Why not proceed with the stuff in chapter 2 or using there your blog page already? Too bad...

Having said all this, I do feel like getting to the end of the process, with the idea that it will be useful to me: there is a lot of material out there teaching jQuery Mobile rather than mobile page development and I believe your book strikes a good balance between theory, practice and craft.