chubbsondubs (2) [Avatar] Offline
"Learning MDX
Multi-Dimensional Expressions are a large topic. We cover some of the basics of MDX and the expressions you will likely find useful, but covering all of MDX is beyond the scope of this book. See appendix E for more on MDX."

I was disappointed to read that this book wouldn't cover MDX at any real depth. Creating schemas isn't particularly hard, but working with MDX, beyond the simplistic roll ups and simple calculations, is darn near impossible to find any help on. I've spent months trying to solve problems using MDX, and I can't make it work. Now I could be just dense, but given I've been doing software development for over 15 years on a variety of platforms I gotta think I've got the basic raw intelligence to understand it. But I find MDX more impenetrable than anything I've ever done before.

MDX is supposed to be an open standard, but I find Mondrian doesn't completely match the same spec as Microsoft implements. Using the Microsoft Community to try and learn MDX is frustrating because it doesn't take long to find differences in Mondrian and MS. And when there are differences we don't have any documentation on how to translate it into Mondrian MDX. So I'd like to see a full treatment of MDX for Mondrian and some recipes of commonly solved problems with MDX. The MDX API reference is poorly documented for Mondrian. Is Appendix E only going to be a regurgitation of the same API docs already out there?
julian.hyde (7) [Avatar] Offline
Re: Mondrian and MDX
MDX is such a rich language that it's hard to do it justice in anything shorter than a (fairly long) book. MDX does crop up throughout Mondrian, so there will be fair amount of it in the book.