k-sok (3) [Avatar] Offline
Hello!

I'm new to python and and prepare for my next project by reading your book. So far I've been coding in C/C++ and didn't have much to to with languages that magically make one's life easy, like python smilie In general, I considered that performance is not a big issue in such language (at least compared to C/C++ where performance is central and often the only reason for using the language). All the more it surprised me to read statements like "don't worry, dictionaries are implemented very efficiently in python" etc. which make one think that performance on the language constructs level _is_ something that a python programmer is (and should be) concerned with.

So given that, it suprised me even more to see an example like in 14.2.8 where exceptions are used for validation (and more or less control-flow). Coming from the C/C++ world one regards the occurrence of exceptions as considerable runtime overhead that should be accepted only in _exceptional_ (as its name implies) cases. It's funny but I would consider your example as an excellent case for not using exceptions because having empty cells is the normal case an now way exceptional smilie

So my question is: should I, as a python programmer, just forget all that burdening C++-exception-overhead bullshit? smilie

Thanks in advance
Konstantin
naomi.ceder (134) [Avatar] Offline
Re: Pyhton philosophy = using exceptions for everything?
Ah, you ask some very good questions, full of potential traps... smilie

There are a couple of things I think it helps to keep in mind when moving from a language like C to a higher level language like Python....