Erminio (3) [Avatar] Offline
Good evening everyone, I'm studying Python and I tried the first Tkinter example in the book on my MacBook (MacOs 10.6) running Python 3.2.2 and the Tcl/Tk update recommended by the Python.org website (ActiveTcl 8.5.11. I think I entered the code correctly but after the last enter the popup shows, but it doesn't let me close the window when I press 'Goodbye' - I have to kill the process. Below the IDLE output. Any ideas, please? Thanks for your time! Erminio

Python 3.2.2 (v3.2.2:137e45f15c0b, Sep 3 2011, 17:28:59)
[GCC 4.2.1 (Apple Inc. build 5666) (dot 3)] on darwin
Type "copyright", "credits" or "license()" for more information.
>>> from tkinter import *
>>> import sys
>>> win = Tk()
>>> button = Button(win, text = "Goodbye", command = sys.exit)
>>> button.pack()
>>> mainloop()
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<pyshell#5>", line 1, in <module>
mainloop()
File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.2/lib/python3.2/tkinter/__init__.py", line 317, in mainloop
_default_root.tk.mainloop(n)
File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.2/lib/python3.2/tkinter/__init__.py", line 1401, in __call__
raise SystemExit(msg)
SystemExit
naomi.ceder (134) [Avatar] Offline
Re: TKinter first example and MacOS 10.6
Hi,

I just tried it on Mac OS 10.7 with Python 3.2 and got the same result... I'm pretty sure when I tested things on Python 3.1 it worked fine. I'm not sure what's going on, but I suspect some subtle change in the way TCL/TK is working may be behind it.

FWIW, if you open a terminal and run python3 and enter this code, it does work just fine...

In any case, you aren't doing anything wrong - this exact code USED to work just fine. If I find out anything more, I'll let you know.

Thanks for reporting the bug!

Vern
Thank you for the quick answer!
Regards, Erminio
FYI the same is true for listing 16.1: the first symptom something is wrong is maybe that
main_window = Tk()