The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

alcdotcom (10) [Avatar] Offline
I'm fairly new to Groovy, although I have used it in a Grails project I built and often use it for simple scripts in place of windows BAT or Linux BASH. I often recommend it to clients when I feel it would be of some help. I recently used Groovy to write a simple script to move information from one DB table to another for a client of mine. The initial table has 100+ rows, but after running the script I noticed that only around 70 of the tables were processed. I tried to fix it, but I just can't seem to get it to reproduce the same behavior when debugging. It was a bit embarrassing because I ended up having to switch to using Java. I believe there is some asynchronous behavior going on, but I'm not familiar enough with Groovy to figure it out. Here is the script I'm using (truncated and with queries and hostnames changed to protect my client):

def ss = Sql.newInstance("jdbc:oracle:thin:removed", "removed",
"removed", "oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver")

def ecv = Sql.newInstance("jdbc:oracle:thin:removed", "removed",
"removed", "oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver")

def service;

def count = 0
rows = ss.rows('select * from ADDRESS')
for (address in rows) {
def user = ss.rows('select * from USER where user_id = ?', address.user_id)[0]

GetAccountInfoRequest request = new GetAccountInfoRequest()
request.setAccountId(address.acct_no)
def phone = proxy.getAccountInfo(request).getBillingPhone1()?.trim()
print count++ + " phone: ${phone} "

def query2 = '''select
c.cust_no, s.site_no,