The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

mortench (1) [Avatar] Offline
I am relatively new to OSGI but just bought the PDF book and read most of it.
Some feedback:
1) The long section on OSGI logging makes me want to run screaming away of OSGI !!! The writing in the books was ok, but the OSGO subject of logging seems so overly complicated. I suspect this is overkill for most people that do not need loggers to be changed at runtime. I also suspect that I can personally continue to use plain old 1-line "java.util.logging.Logger" statements even in my OSGI bundles but the book does not mention this option so I am unsure. If using java's standard logger remains a possibility (?) the book should mention this !!
2) Hmm. OSGI seems to force all suppliers of OSGI modules to be experts in the OSGI lifecycle and multithreading. Not sure 80% of Java developers can do this. Is there a way to hide some of this complexity for OSGI clients that just need to implement one of my interfaces in a simple OSGI module by enforcing some lifecycle limitations and make anything single-threaded for specific clients?
3) Glassfish V3's OSGI support is what finally got me to consider OSGI for projects now, but the book does not mention Glassfish's OSGI support or the OSGI support of any other application servers. It would be nice with a small writeup detailing the app servers that support OSGI, incl. OSGI versions supported/limitations/extensions and how to leverage OSGI in applications servers.