The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

StephenD (3) [Avatar] Offline
Hello,

I am just beginning with this shell, and there is something I'd like an explanation for.
A lot of my work involves dealing with software revisions, so it's tremendous that I can take an array of file names and check the installed versions of these.

I want to automate this by using a reference file to create an array and then comparing those elements with installed software. Here's the scenario:
I have a file - c:myscriptsdll.csv - with x PATHFILE specifications.

C:windowssystem32asesrv.dll
C:windowssystem32atmeter.dll

In the shell, I do the following:
PS C:MyScripts> $newarray = new-object system.collections.arraylist
PS C:MyScripts> get-content c:myscriptsdll.csv | foreach {$newarray.add($_)}
PS C:MyScripts> $newarray

So far, so good. I don't care about the errant output for now. However I want to automate the creation of the array, so I create a function in the shell.....

PS C:MyScripts> Function ImportToNewArray($a)
>> {
>> $newarray = new-object system.collections.arraylist
>> get-content $a | foreach {$newarray.add($_)}
>> }
>>
PS C:MyScripts> ImportToNewArray c:myscriptsdll.csv
PS C:MyScripts> $newarray <---- calling it here works

This works in the shell, but after I've stored this function in my profile and call it I get a different result:
(I've closed and restarted the shell here)
PS C:MyScripts> ImportToNewArray c:myscriptsdll.csv
PS C:MyScripts> $newarray <----- calling it here returns nothing
PS C:MyScripts>