Matt Garland (8) [Avatar] Offline
Hi,

After I finished Pomodo, I got all ambitious and started architecting a Flex Rails chat site with some social-networking features. Right now I'm pretty cloudy about how to organize my RESTy services, however. It's not just that I'm new to REST--being a pure Actionscripter until I read this book, I'm new to the business layer.

First off, REST sounds great to me. I really like the idea of creating a simple API for accessing data like a folder hierarchy ("user/14") and I especially like the routing options, which hide any extra logic necessary ("project/19/users").

The problems start with the social-networking features that involve some data that is more complex than "user/14". For instance, once a user is logged into a chat room, they need various kinds of texts (table: notes) that in-room (table: activeChatters) friends (table: friends) have chosen to share with the user (table friends, column: sharesNotes).

The chapter on RubyAMF shows various delegate classes calling CRUD operations off remote objects. But how would you approximate (in a remoting method) the WebServices url "project/19/users" or anything more complex than CRUD? Without, that is, ending up with some mess where complex logic must mirror each other on both the client and the rails app--which would muddy the whole point of REST. More generally, are routing options excluded when we use remoting?

I watched some of the recommended REST articles and videos and I understand that 1) routing should never go beyond a second layer because it gets too confusing. I also understand that more models are better than more logic. So perhaps I could create a table like activeChatterersSharedResources, which would be updated as users logged on and off, and could be directly queried, REST-style.