The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

soostibi (11) [Avatar] Offline
First of all congratulation for this book! I really enjoyed reading it and started to write scripts which I've never done before!
Actually there are only two books worth buying about PS: Bruce's and the Cookbook by Lee Holmes. These are perfect complementers to each other.

One question about comparing strings, here is my problem. I use Windows with Hungarian language setting, Hungarian sort order. The Hungarian alphabet: a, á, b, c...
When comparing strings:

[1] PS I:>"ab" -lt "ac" # that's OK
True

[2] PS I:>"a" -lt "á" # that's OK
True

[3] PS I:>"ab" -lt "áb" # that's OK
True

[4] PS I:>"ac" -lt "áb" # that's the problem!
False

So the last result is not correct. Why? Is that a bug?
Kiron (38) [Avatar] Offline
Re: Question about comparison of strings
When both operands are strings PowerShell compares strings as strings, alphabetically:

# true because á's position in the alphabet is greater than a's
'á'-gt'a'

# true, same as before; the next element in both operands is the same
'áb'-gt'ab'

# true, á's position in the alphabet is greater than a's
# and so is c's position regarding b's
'ác'-gt'ab'

# false, even though á's position is greater than a's
# b's position is lower than c's; the string 'áb' comes
# before -or is less than- 'ac' when sorted alphabetically
'áb'-gt'ac'

# sorting the strings demonstrates it
'á','a' | sort
'áb','ab' | sort
'ác','ab'| sort
'áb','ac'| sort

# compare numbers as strings
# true, obviously
'13'-gt'12'

# sort numbers as strings
'13','12'|sort