The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

gwtuser2008 (1) [Avatar] Offline
I'm new to GWT and I'm trying to follow the examples in the book. I have followed all the steps up to Stage2 (pg. 86). I executed the Dashboard-Constants-i18n command in Eclipse which automatically created the DashboardConstants.java file as expected. However, in the main Dashboard.java file(same as in Listing 3.7), I still get an error saying that "DashboardConstants cannot be resolved to a type" for the following line:

DashboardConstants constants = (DashboardConstants) GWT.create(DashboardConstants.class);

As a result, I'm not being able to successfully compile/run to get the output shown in Figure 3.7. I have incorporated the right .css files etc. and modified the .gwt.xml file as mentioned in the book. Any pointers/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
gwtuser2008
robert.hanson (173) [Avatar] Offline
Re: DashboardConstants Issue - GWTIA Book
Is the DashboardConstants class in the same package as the class that is reporting the error? If not, be sure that you have an import statement in your code.
BobMarcum (10) [Avatar] Offline
Robert,

I am having this same problem. However, I am using netbeans6 with the nb4gwt plugin.

I get this message when attempting to compile the result of Chapter 3:
/root/tmp/GWTinAction/Dashboard/src/java/org/client/DashboardEntryPoint.java:40: cannot find symbol
symbol : class DashboardConstants
DashboardConstants constants = (DashboardConstants) GWT.create (DashboardConstants.class);

Thanks for any guidance.
Some quick ideas...