The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

vladimir (1) [Avatar] Offline
mvn install => BUILD FAILURES
Chris, in advance I’m sorry for my bad English and the critic which you can find too sever and not clear enough.
I have exactly the same problem as Elvin Hau: mvn install => BUILD FAILURE. Personally I find this situation extremely blocking. I am also new to Maven as well as to JMock, Hibernate, JDO and Spring (but nor to iBatis neither to DAO…).
Regarding the choice of Maven and the manner to refer to the sample application “Food to Go” I have some concern with it. Actually, after reading chapters 1 – 3 I continued with building the standalone project “Chapter 3 = Domain model” and I experienced another BUILD FAILURE (I am not sure that it is possible to build the project of chapter 3 alone = standalone project) and only then I tried to build the top-level project which (also) failed.
I don’t know if the problem with Chapter 3 standalone is the same as with the building the top-level project or it’s just because of the existence of some non explicit dependencies ?

So presently I have potential problems with:
Maven
An obligation to build the whole project.

I find this problematic very “heavyweight” in a total contradiction with the main subject and philosophy of the book.