The Author Online Book Forums are Moving

The Author Online Book Forums will soon redirect to Manning's liveBook and liveVideo. All book forum content will migrate to liveBook's discussion forum and all video forum content will migrate to liveVideo. Log in to liveBook or liveVideo with your Manning credentials to join the discussion!

Thank you for your engagement in the AoF over the years! We look forward to offering you a more enhanced forum experience.

srinipenchikala (1) [Avatar] Offline
Hi,
I have recently purchased the book and I am reading chapter 3. Chris talks about the mock object testing frameworks EasyMock and jMock (there is also rMock) which are JUnit extensions. Chris says that he prefers jMock over the other frameworks. I am new to mock testing, I was wondering if you anyone has any good (or not so good) experiences with these or any other mock object testing frameworks.

We are looking to standardize on a mock test framework at my company so any feedback on this will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Srini
ceracm (113) [Avatar] Offline
Re: Mock object testing frameworks
Srini,

I would try jMock and easyMock and see, which one you like the most.
You could, for example, try rewriting some of the jMock tests from the book using easyMock.
Its always best to "try before you buy".

Chris
tilia (1) [Avatar] Offline
Re: Mock object testing frameworks
Hi,